Office of Online Learning

Undergraduate Programs
First-time freshmen and transfer students looking for the full on-campus college experience.

Request Info For Undergraduate Programs

 

Post-Traditional Undergrad
and Graduate Programs

Working professionals and adults who've been out of school for a while, looking to advance their careers.

Request Info For Post-Traditional Undergrad and Graduate Programs

 

Online Programs
Students looking to earn a degree entirely online.

Request Info For Online Programs

 

Office of Online Learning

Office of Online Learning
left
top
white

The Office of Online Learning (OOL) provides a friendly environment focused on excellence in online learning, course development and online training initiatives for students, faculty and staff. We help to provide an enriching online course experience for the Medaille community and are available to assist you with online skill development, both on campus and online.

Office of Online Learning
Huber Hall 121
(716) 880-2282
elearning@medaille.edu

For information about our online programs contact the Medaille Post Traditional, Graduate & Online Admissions

Stop by or schedule an appointment:
Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

 

no_outer_space
Meet the Office of Online Learning Team

Maximus on ComputerStudent Resources

The resources listed below are intended to assist students with online course needs. If you need additional assistance, or would like to collaborate with the E-Learning Team, email us at elearning@medaille.edu or call (716) 880-2282.

 

Blackboard Original Platform Resources

Student Video Tutorials & Tip Sheets

Student Blackboard (Bb) Original Handbook

Student Bb Original Orientation Video  (5:51 mins)

 

Student Blackboard (Bb) Original Bb Collaborate Live Classroom Intro Video (14:45 mins)

 

Blackboard Ultra Platform Resources

Blackboard Ultra Handbook

Blackboard Ultra Navigation Video (15:27 mins)

 

Student Mentors

First Name

Last Name

Email

Major

Bb Original

Bb Ultra

Allison 

Scumaci

aps336@medaille.edu

MBA

Original

Ultra

Nerissa 

Williams 

nw468@medaille.edu    

Academic Success Center Tutor

Original

 

Philip 

Splawski

Philip.R.Splawski@medaille.edu

Sports Management & MOL Alum

Original

 

Rebecca

Lesser

Rebecca.Lesser@medaille.edu

Academic Success Center Tutor

Original

 

Ryan 

Scumaci

rs3624@medaille.edu

eSports Management

Original

Ultra

 

Additional Resources

Bb Student App Download Information

Tips for Online Students: How to Be Successful in an Online Course

Student Online Resources Webmix
Medaille College IT does not support or maintain Webmix tools; they are provided as-is for student use. Please make sure you test the tool before you use it to ensure that it is still available. Support for each tool/application is responsibility of each user. Medaille College IT does not support or maintain software purchases made available on the Webmix page. The contract is exclusively between the end user and software company.  

Max at ScreenFaculty Resources

The resources listed below are intended to assist faculty with online course needs. If you need additional assistance, or would like to collaborate with the E-Learning Team, email us at elearning@medaille.edu or call (716) 880-2282.

 

Bb Original Instructor Video Tutorials, Tip Sheets, and Training Registration 

Blackboard (Bb) Original Handbook

Blackboard (Bb) Ultra Handbook

Blackboard (Bb) Ultra Training Videos on How to Design in Bb Ultra

Bb Instructor App 

Student Engagement Strategies (Article)

Teaching Through a Pandemic: A Mindset for This Moment (Article)

Time on Task Example Document

OSCQR: Online Evaluation Short Form

OSCQR: Online Evaluation Long Form

 

Faculty Online Resources Webmix
Medaille College IT does not support or maintain Webmix tools; they are provided as-is for faculty to use. Please make sure you test the tool before you use it to ensure that it is still available. Support for each tool/application is responsibility of each user. Medaille College IT does not support or maintain software purchases made available on the page. The contract is exclusively between the end user and software company.

 

Faculty/Staff Mentors

First Name

Last Name

Email

Department

Bb Original

Bb Ultra

Alex

Beebe

alexander.beebe@medaille.edu

Office of Online Learning

Original

 

Renee

Bugenhagen

rbugenhagen@medaille.edu

Vet Tech Online

Original

Ultra

Lucy

Czesak

lucy.czesak@medaille.edu

Academic Success Center

Original

 

Ray

Drechsel

rjd63@medaille.edu

Information Technology

Original

Ultra

Jerry

Erion

gerion@medaille.edu

Interdisciplinary Studies

Original

 

John

Girard

john.c.girard@medaille.edu

Science Math and Technology

Original

Ultra

Rich

Jacob

RJacob@Medaille.edu

Social Sciences

Original

 

Corinne

Jones

corinne.r.jones@medaille.edu

Business Leadership & Management

Original

 

Don

Lando

donald.p.lando@medaille.edu

Post Traditional Admissions

Original

Ultra

Jason

Liu

jianzhen.liu@medaille.edu

Science Math and Technology

Original

 

Val

Macer

vmacer@medaille.edu

Vet Tech Buffalo

Original

 

Lindsay

Martin

Lindsay.T.Martin@medaille.edu

Undergraduate Admissions

Original

 

Vochita

Mihai

vmihai@medaille.edu

Science Math and Technology

Original

 

Don

Nowak

donald.e.nowak@medaille.edu

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Original

Ultra

Jonas

Patriko

jonas.j.patriko@medaille.edu

Business Leadership & Management

Original

 

Caitlin

Riegel

Caitlin.Riegel@medaille.edu

Education

Original

Ultra

Smita

Samanta

Satamita.Samanta@medaille.edu

Science Math and Technology

Original

 

Mary Beth

Scumaci

mscumaci@medaille.edu

Office of Online Learning

Original

Ultra

Debbie

Shelvay

Deborah.A.Shelvay@medaille.edu

Business Leadership & Management

Original

 

Susan

Steffan

ssteffan@medaille.edu

Business Leadership & Management

Original

Ultra

Brooke

Urban

brooke.urban@medaille.edu

Admissions

Original

 

Julianna

Woite

jlw76@medaille.edu

Office of Online Learning

Original

Ultra

Max with StudentsFrequently Asked Questions

How do I access my Blackboard courses?
Choose the link to Blackboard within your Medaille360 account, on the college website footer, or by visiting blackboard.medaille.edu.

Can you change things in my course for my instructor?
We cannot. Your instructor is the master of the course and is responsible for all content, assessments, assignment deadlines, etc.  Please contact your instructor about course related questions and deadlines.  We cannot change or reset course assignments for you.

What’s the difference between Blackboard Original and Blackboard Ultra platforms for online courses?
Blackboard Original is the course management system that most of our courses are in currently. Over the 2020-2021 academic year, the college will be transitioning to the Ultra platform. Ultra is updated technology, easier to navigate, more mobile friendly and academically friendly. During Fall of 2021, ALL courses at Medaille College will be in the Ultra platform. Be sure to participate in trainings when offered!

Where do I find support resources for Blackboard?
You can find resources on this page, under the Student Resources tab, and additional videos and tip sheets on the IT website. If you need to speak to someone about your Bb course, stop in to Huber 121 or call (716) 880-2358.

71
hide-title
Office of Online Learning